House of Representatives commends NAMRIA
By: Jeff Aguillon

The House of Representatives, led by Speaker Feliciano Belmonte Jr., formally presented to NAMRIA House Resolution No. 174, commending the agency for the successful preparation and defense before the United Nations Commission on the Limits of the Continental Shelf the Philippine Submission for an extended continental shelf in the Benham Rise Region. Held at the Social Hall of the Office of the Speaker on 09 October 2015, the ceremony was witnessed by Representative Francisco Ashley L. Acedillo, who co-authored the resolution with Representative Al Francis C. Bichara, and Representatives Rodolfo G. Biazon, Gary C. Alejano, and Romeo M. Acop.

Speaker Belmonte presents HR174 to Administrator Tiangco.

The Administrator with Deputy Administrators Efren P. Carandang (leftmost) and Jose C. Cabanayan Jr. (rightmost); the author of the bill, Representative Acedillo (center) and (to his left) Magdalo Partylist Representative Alejano; and the other agency award representatives

The awardees headed by Administrator Tiangco with Speaker Belmonte at the Social Hall of the Office of the Speaker; other NAMRIA officials in the picture are (from left) Captain Catapang, Commodore Cablayan, and Deputy Administrators Carandang and Cabanayan

Administrator Peter N. Tiangco; Deputy Administrators Efren P. Carandang and Jose C. Cabanayan Jr.; Hydrography Branch (HB) Director, Commodore Jacinto M. Cablayan; and HB Officer In Charge-Assistant Director, Captain Herbert L. Catapang were present during the awarding ceremony. Aside from NAMRIA, the other awardees were the National Security Council, Department of Foreign Affairs, and Philippine Navy.

Administrator Tiangco discusses with Speaker Belmonte the work done by NAMRIA on the country’s ECS in the Benham Rise Region.

Readers can email or fax letters to +63-2 884-2855 for their comments and suggestions.