Oath-taking ceremony held in NAMRIA for 121st Philippine Civil Service Anniversary
Volume XXXIII, Issue No. 27
By: Maria Romina D. Pe Benito

NAMRIA Administrator, Usec. Peter N. Tiangco, PhD administered on 08 September 2021 the oath of office of a total of 76 newly hired and promoted employees from various branches of the agency, covering the period fromOctober 2020 to August 2021.  The ceremony was held virtually and was streamed to the public via YouTube.
The oath-taking event was held pursuant to Presidential Proclamation No. 1050, series of 1997, declaring the month of September as Civil Service Month.  The Civil Service Commission spearheads the yearly anniversary of the Philippine Civil Service and introduces this year the 10-year overarching theme, Transforming Public Service in the Next Decade: Honing Agile and Future-Ready Servant-Heroes.  The theme is said to reflect “the path the civil service has to take to build on the gains of last year’s modernization efforts in the wake of the COVID-19 pandemic, and the role of HR in building a competent and credible workforce in the new normal” (source:
Those from NAMRIA who took their respective oaths of office were Ltsg. Kerwin C. Ferrer who is the newly elected internal auditor of the NAMRIA Provident Fund (NPF) along with 41 civilian employees, six (6) commissioned officers (COs), and 29 non-commissioned officers (NCOs).  However, for the NCOs, only those who completed the requirements for their respective appointment papers before the scheduled event were able to join it.
The respective appointments of the 41 civilian employees are the following:  original, promotion, re-appointment, and re-employment.  Conrado F. Apolonio of the Office of the Administrator, was re-appointed to the position of Senior Administrative Assistant III (Private Secretary II). 
From the Hydrography Branch (HB) are the following employees: Michael R. Tumacder, Cartographer I; Hermielyn C. Sagucio, Cartographer IV; Carmen Rose T. Yacub, Cartographer II; and Jan Bryan O. Navarro, Engineer III.
From the Mapping and Geodesy Branch are the following employees: Lolita G. Panaga, Engineer III; Kathleen L. Apolinario, Engineer I; Elias B. Calucag, Jr., Photographer III; Erwin R. Del Rosario, Engineering Assistant; Allan M. Balauro, Cartographer II; Jayson B. Javier, Cartographer II; Maria Jasmin M. Peralta, Cartographer I; Vanessa T. Alcala, Surveyman; Voltaire C. Dela Cruz, Printing Machine Operator II; and Jaydell D. Gaite, Administrative Aide VI (Clerk III).
From the Resource Data Analysis Branch are the following employees: Larry M. Serquiña, Senior Remote Sensing Technologist; Jonathan Brian C. Lao, Senior Remote Sensing Technologist; Geoben I. Fernandez, Supervising Remote Sensing Technologist; Jonnalyn N. Bayona, Administrative Aide VI (Clerk III); Ma. Ailyn L. Olanda, Engineer II; Kriston E. Gregana, Remote Sensing Technologist II; and Princess Mae A. Santiago, Remote Sensing Technologist II.
From the Geospatial Information System Management Branch (GISMB) are the following employees: Fatima A. Santos, Information Technology Officer II; Michelle N. Medina, Computer Maintenance Technologist II, Mark Allan Jay C. Jumeras, Computer Programmer II; Nilca Jane F. Fabellon, Information Systems Analyst II; Herminia V. Evangelista, Information Systems Analyst II; John Richard R. Bongalos, Information Systems Analyst II; Hazeline Glace A. Ali, Engineer II; Daniel F. Antivola, Computer Maintenance Technologist I; Melvin O. Perez, Information Systems Analyst III; and Angelica Thea O. Parayno, Information Systems Researcher II.
From the Support Services Branch (SSB) are the following employees: Loreto G. Gealone, Engineer IV; Madel G. Gavarra, Administrative Aide VI (Clerk III); Jerico R. Simangan, Administrative Aide VI (Air-Conditioning Technician I); John Michael B. Hita, Administrative Assistant II (Budgeting Assistant); Ma. Lorenza Izza A. Ruiz, Accountant II; Manuel G. Talamayan, Jr., Scientific Documentation Officer III; Kim Claire D. Fulay, Administrative Officer III (Cashier II); Ryan Christopher F. De Leon, Administrative Assistant III (Buyer III); and Alvin P. Maramag, Administrative Assistant III (Mechanic III).
The promoted COs are the following: to the rank of Lieutenant Senior Grade – Dionesio C. Gato Jr. and to the rank of Ensign – Janine Ann D. Magmoyao, Mayann M. Mallillin, Jhoana Marie S. Quilon, Kate Roseel D. Reyes, and Mary Angielyn V. Rosales.
The promoted NCOs are the following: to the rank of Petty Officer Third Class – Rene M. Barriento, Enrico R. Delos Santos, Ruel B. Macayan, and Mark Neil Demetrio A. Quodala; to the rank of Seaman First Class – Clifford V. Arcilla, Efren G. Aviles, Joahna C. Calda, Lito P. Dela Cruz, Joselito P. Go, Alexander G. Guiab, Joel C. Guy, Joebert B. Panes, and Wilson V. Ticzon; and to the rank of Seaman Second Class – Jolly R. Abel, Wilmer A. De Mesa, Eduard Delco, Richie S. Durana, Joemar C. Ferrer, Corazon T. Gines, Jerry N. Lansangan, Ervie E. Malong, Rodel T. Mendoza, Henry C. Monteclaro, Erwin P. Pichay, Ryan Kristoffer C. Ragadio, Allan F. Raguindin, and Allain Dave Z. Solis.
         Administrator Tiangco virtually administers the oaths of office of...
newly elected NPF internal auditor, Ltsg. Kerwin C. Ferrer...
NAMRIA civilian employees...
... and NCOs.
OIC-DA Fabic gives his opening message.
Officer in Charge (OIC)-DA John Santigao F. Fabic, Chairperson of the NAMRIA Human Resource Merit Promotion and Selection Board then welcomed the appointees in his opening message.  He told them they made the right decision to work or remain to work in NAMRIA and that they have proven, by going through the tedious selection process, that they are the best out of the best.  He said they will learn a lot from working under pressure especially while working in the new normal.  According to him, the agency expects no less than their full dedication towards their work, for each one of them will be the reason behind NAMRIA’s continued success as a locally- and internationally-recognized organization. 
Administrator Tiangco addresses NAMRIA's newly hired and promoted employees in his inspirational message.
In his inspirational message, Administrator Tiangco congratulated the appointees and spoke of the welcome development of their officially being public servants in NAMRIA.  He cited their instrumental role in helping the agency deliver the outputs expected from it, despite the challenges of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic and the ensuing belt-tightening measures of the government.  He called on the appointees to provide the best service to all of the agency’s clients both in terms of quality and quantity.  He also told them to remember always that amid the challenges, those new in their work are not expected to know everything they need to know.  He then asked the agency’s supervisors, those in the higher levels, to be patient in teaching and to also care for their newly hired colleagues.
Catherine T.  Yacub of SSB emceed the event while the following introduced the respective batches of oath-takers: Thelma F. Morales of GISMB for the newly elected internal auditor of NPF; Daniel Paulo T. Bacsafra and Averill Q. Pilar of SSB for the civilian employees; and Ens. Meliza Audia G.  Fiesta of HB for the NCOs and COs.  HB Assistant Director for Operation, Cdr. Jose T. Arevalo Jr.,  read the Promotion Letter from President Rodrigo Roa Duterte while HB Assistant Director for Administration, Cdr. Carter S. Luma-ang, read the Appointment Letter from the NAMRIA Administrator.  The NAMRIA Chorale participated in the program through their singing of the opening prayer and of the National Anthem. Jeffrey A. Aguillon of GISMB provided technical support for the conduct of the event.

Readers can email or fax letters to +63-2 884-2855 for their comments and suggestions.