NAMRIA wins 2 FOI awards
By: Maria Romina D. Pe Benito

NAMRIA capped off the year 2019 with not one but two plaques of recognition which were given during the 2019 Freedom of Information (FOI) Awards held at The Peninsula Manila hotel in Makati City on 12 December 2019.  NAMRIA Administrator, Usec. Peter N. Tiangco, PhD received for the agency its award “for being one of the top requested and performing agencies in the eFOI Portal (” while Ms. Zenaida A. Leaño, NAMRIA FOI Receiving Officer, was awarded for being one of the best FOI officers.  Both NAMRIA and Ms. Leaño were recognized “for efforts and accomplishments that support the implementation of the FOI program.”
The holding of the FOI Awards was pursuant to FOI Memorandum Circular number 3, series of 2019, “establishing the 2019 FOI Awards and Recognition for Government Agencies and Organizations.”  The Presidential Communications Operations Office (PCOO), which is in charge of the FOI Program, was involved in the evaluation and deliberation for the awards, with the Office of the Executive Secretary, as the chair of the FOI Awards Screening Committee, and the following as the members: the Philippine Librarians Association Inc. representing the academe, the National Press Club representing media organizations, and Caucus of Development NGO Networks representing the non-governmental organizations.  
2019 FOI Awards souvenir photo with NAMRIA Administrator Tiangco and Ms. Leaño (3rd and 4th from right, respectively),
together with (from left to right) PCOO Undersecretary for Administration and Legal Affairs Atty. Marvin R. Gatpayat;
PCOO Assistant Secretary for Policy, Special Concerns, and FOI Project Management Office Atty. Michel Kristian R. Ablan;
Mr. Philip G. Serazon of NAMRIA Engineering Services Division; and NAMRIA Mapping and Geodesy Branch Director
and NAMRIA FOI Committee Chairperson Ruel DM. Belen. -- BENJAMIN FRANKLIN CARIAGA, PCOO


Readers can email or fax letters to +63-2 884-2855 for their comments and suggestions.